I’m Sorry Mom…

I’m sitting here looking at my children with a tear rolling down my cheek…

I always had people tell me, “You don’t know what love is until you have a child,” and I thought they were all crazy.

Well, they were right…

Every day my children continue to amaze me in ways that I never thought imaginable and it makes me so emotional. I have at least one moment a day where I look at my children and I start to cry, because honestly I don’t know what I would do without them or if something ever happened to either one of them. They are the best thing that could have ever happened to me and they make me push to be a better person every day.

I think back to all the teenage years that my mother and I fought, not realizing how much she loved me and how much it hurt her when we couldn’t get along. Even one small argument must have torn her apart, because I know it would me.

I’m sorry Mom.

I’m sorry for all those days we argued and for always thinking that I was right, when really I was just an ignorant child.

I’m sorry for all those nights I lied to you and I snuck out; I’m sure you knew and worried yourself sick. I’m sorry for the hurtful things I said when I was angry, and for the grouchy attitude I always gave you. I’m sorry for not understanding how much you loved me.

I just want to thank you for helping make me the person I am today, because without you I wouldn’t be me. I wouldn’t be so strong, determined and have so much love in my heart.
I now understand it all… I wish I would have known sooner, but that wasn’t possible until I had a child of my own. 

It’s crazy how life works.

Thank you Mom, I love you!


Leave a Reply

